Janell Monae Releases “The Electric Lady” Album Artwork, Discusses Prince Collabo

All Hail the Q.U.E.E.N. R&B sensation Janelle Monae  recently reported to  Billboard Magazine that her sophomore album, “The Electric Lady,” will include collaborations with Prince and Miguel.

Monae, who graces the cover of the Billbord’s September issue, explains her friendship with Prince and how excited she was to work with the music legend.

“I had a chance to produce an icon,” says Monáe. “It’s not every day that he collaborates. I’m honored and humbled that he trusted me. He is forever my friend, and I am forever indebted. I can’t say too much else about it.”

Monae describes Prince as a friend who she can seek advice from.

“We are great friend, and he is a mentor to us, to me,” she says. “It’s a beautiful thing to have a friend — someone who cares about your career, and wants to see you go far and to push boundaries and shake up the world — give whatever they possibly can to the cause.”

Her new album is due out in September and she intertwined her songwriting chops with her storytelling skills.

She said she wants to “tell universal stories in unforgettable ways.”

The single is a duet with Erykah Badu titled “Q.U.E.E.N.” The single has sold 31,000 copies, according to Nielsen SoundScan.

In addition to her Billboard cover story, Monae has also unveiled the album cover art and track listing for her forthcoming opus. Along with Miguel, Prince and Erykah Badu, the two-disc set will also feature collaborations with Solange Knowles and Esperanza Spalding. Check out the track list below, which includes some bonuses in the Target pack.

Disc 1
1. “Suite IV Electric Overture”
2. “Givin Em What They Love” feat. Prince
3. “Q.U.E.E.N.” feat. Erykah Badu
4. “Electric Lady” feat. Solange
5. “Good Morning Midnight” (Interlude)
6. “PrimeTime” feat. Miguel
7. “We Were Rock & Roll”
8. “The Chrome Shoppe” (Interlude)
9. “Dance Apocalyptic”
10. “Look Into My Eyes”

Disc 2
11. “Suite V Electric Overture”
12. “It’s Code”
13. “Ghetto Woman”
14. “Our Favorite Fugitive” (Interlude)
15. “Victory”
16. “Can’t Live Without Your Love”
17. “Sally Ride”
18. “Dorothy Dandridge Eyes” feat. Esperanza Spalding
19. “What an Experience”

Target Deluxe Edition
1. “HYTB”
2. “I Want You Back” (Jackson 5 cover)
3. “Q.U.E.E.N. (Remix)”
4. “The Electric Lady (Remix)”


Related posts

New Music: Ginette Claudette- Jump

G harshana

CHEATERS- Wendy Williams Addresses Why She is Sticking By Her Cheater

G harshana

The McClure Twins: New Episode – Beautiful Twins Meet Other Beautiful Twins

G harshana

Leave a Comment